Two of my favorite sources of entertainment happen to be free: people watching and eavesdropping.  Call me voyeuristic, but there’s something fascinating about being granted a window into someone elses’ world, even if it’s for a short amount of time.  The best part is that it doesn’t cost a dime, although both are more enjoyable with an ice cream cone or cocktail in hand.

Today, I went shopping with a friend.  One of those marathon shopping days where you know you’ve got the whole day to take your time and pick through the racks, visit the dressing rooms countless times and find exactly what you want. 

After spending hours in one particular store, we were ready to check out, so I jumped in an incredibly long line.   While I waited in line, my friend put back several items we had both decided not to purchase.

When we had checked out and were headed to the car, she said “that guy behind you was cute-did you notice him?”.  I HAD actually noticed him and he WAS good-looking in a I-wouldn’t-date-you-but-I-might-make-out-with-you-if-I-was-out-of-town kind of way. 

 “Yeah, he was cute, but he’s a Christmas tree stealer”, I responded.  “He’s a WHAT?”, she asked with a confused look on her face.  “He steals Christmas trees and sells them to make money”, I stated matter-of-factly.  “Nikki, people tell you the strangest things”, she laughed. “Oh, he didn’t TELL me, I was listening to him on the phone”, I explained. 

So, this is what I learned while eavesdropping.   Apparently this guy trolls around in his boat at Lake Lanier all year long, looking for trees that would make good Christmas trees.  When he locates the  trees (in my mind, he spots them because of the ethereal light shining on them), he enters the location into his GPS system and then when Christmas rolls around, he goes back at night and cuts them down and sells them to unsuspecting people.  He even talked about a friend who had the “perfect” boat for his craft – an older boat that had had all the seats taken out.  I guess this way those poor Christmas trees don’t have to be blown around by the wind.

It made me think that missing items = illegal activity.

  1. Bath tub missing?  You might be in a meth lab.
  2. License plate missing?  You might be in a get away car.
  3. Seats missing in the van?  You might have been kidnapped.
  4. Boat seats missing?  Yep, your buddy might be a Christmas tree stealer too.

After I told the story, my friend said “you should totally write about this in your blog”.  Don’t mind if I do…

